Book of Haggai

The Book of Haggai is a book of the Hebrew Bible or Tanakh, and has its place as the third-to-last of the Minor Prophets. The Book of Haggai is named after its assumed writer, the prophet Haggai.  It is a short book, comprising of just two parts. The verifiable setting dates around 520 BCE before the Temple has been rebuilt. 520 BCE falls between the begin of the Achaemenid Empire in 539 BCE and 520 BCE, a period that saw significant pioneers, for example, Zerubbabel help lead the Jews in their arrival to the land.

Haggai’s name is gotten from the Hebrew verbal root hgg, which signifies “to make a journey.”.

The first chapter contains the first address (2–11) and its effects (12–15).

The second chapter contains:

The second prophecy (1–9), which was delivered a month after the first
The third prophecy (10–19), delivered two months and three days after the second; and
The fourth prophecy (20–23), delivered on the same day as the third
These discourses are referred to in Ezra 5:1 and 6:14. (Compare Haggai 2:7, 8 and 22)

The Book of Haggai Outline

  1. Divine Announcement: The Command to Rebuild the Temple (1.1–15 )
  2. Introduction: Reluctant Rebuilders (1.1–2)
  3. Consider your ways: fruitless prosperity (1.3–12)
  4. Promise and Progress (1.13–15)
  5. Divine Announcement: The Coming Glory of the Temple (2.1–2.9)
  6. God will fulfil his promise (2:1–5 )
  7. Future Splendor of the temple (2:6–9 )
  8. Divine Announcement: Blessings for a Defiled People (2.10–19)
  9. Former Misery (2.10–17)
  10. Future Blessing (2.18–19)
  11. Divine Announcement: Zerubbabel Chosen as a Signet (2.20–23)

Summary of The Book of Haggai Explained – Understanding The Book of Haggai


Book of Zechariah

It fair to Share the Kingdom of God