Book of Micah

The Book of Micah is a prophetic book in the Tanakh/Old Testament, and the 6th of the twelve minor prophets. It records the truisms of Micah, whose name is Mikayahu, (Hebrew: מִיכָיָ֫הוּ ) signifying “Who is like Yahweh?”, an eighth century B.C. prophet from the town of Moresheth in Judah (Hebrew name from the opening verse: מיכה המרשתי).

The book has three noteworthy divisions, sections 1–2, 3–5 and 6–7, each presented by “Listen,” with an example of substituting declarations of fate and articulations of expectation inside each division.

Micah censures out of line pioneers, guards the privileges of the poor against the rich and powerful; while anticipating a world settled focused on Zion under the administration of another Davidic monarch.

While the book is generally short, it incorporates mourn (1.8–16; 7.8–10), theophany (1.3–4), hymnic supplication of request of and certainty (7.14–20),[7] and the “pledge claim” (6.1–8), a particular kind in which Yahweh (God) sues Israel for rupture of agreement, that is, for infringement of the Sinai covenant.

Structure of the Book of Micah

At the broadest level, Micah can be partitioned into three generally measure up to parts:

Judgment against the countries and their pioneers

Reclamation of Zion (parts 4–5, most likely exilic and post-exilic, together with the following section);

God’s claim against Israel and articulation of expectation (sections 6–7).

Inside this wide three-section structure are a progression of substituting prophets of judgment and guarantees of restoration:

  1. 1 Superscription
  2. 2–2.11 Oracles of judgement
  3. 12–13 Oracles of restoration
  4. 1–12 Oracles of judgement
  5. 1–5.15 Oracles of restoration
  6. 1–7.6 Oracles of judgement
  7. 7–20 Oracles of restoration

What is The Book of Micah About? – Micah In The Bible Explained


Book of Nahum

It fair to Share the Kingdom of God