Book of Proverbs

The Book of Proverbs (Hebrew: מִשְלֵי, Míshlê (Shlomoh), “Maxims (of Solomon)”) is the second book of the third area of the Hebrew Bible and the Old Testament. The rehashed topic is that “the dread of God (which means accommodation to the will of God) is the start of wisdom”. It is a case of the Biblical astuteness custom, and brings up issues of qualities, good conduct, the importance of human life, and right conduct.

Wisdom is lauded for her part in creation; God procured her before all else, and through her he offered request to tumult; and since people have life and thriving by complying with the request of creation, looking for intelligence is the embodiment and objective of the religious life.

Book of Proverbs Structure

Scroll of the Book of Proverbs

The superscription’s divide the collections as follows:

  1. Proverbs 1–9: “Proverbs of Solomon, Son of David, King of Israel”
  2. Proverbs 10–22:16: “Proverbs of Solomon”
  3. Proverbs 22:17–24:22: “The Sayings of the Wise”
  4. Proverbs 24:23–34: “These Also are Sayings of the Wise”
  5. Proverbs 25–29: “These are Other Proverbs of Solomon that the Officials of King Hezekiah of Judah Copied”
  6. Proverbs 30: “The Words of Agur”
  7. Proverbs 31:1–9: “The Words of King Lemuel of Massa, Which his Mother Taught Him”
  8. Proverbs 31:10–31: the ideal wise woman (elsewhere called the “woman of substance”).

The Book of Proverbs Explained – Commentary on Proverbs Summary


Book of Ecclesiasticus

It fair to Share the Kingdom of God

Leave a comment