Book of Nahum

The Book of Nahum is the seventh book of the 12 minor prophets of the Hebrew Bible. It is credited to the prophet Nahum, and was likely composed in Jerusalem in the seventh century BC.

The Book of Nahum Overview

The Book of Nahum comprises of two parts:

  • Section one demonstrates the glory and may of God the LORD in goodness and severity.
  • Sections two and three depict the fall of Nineveh, which later occurred in 612 BC. Nineveh is contrasted with Thebes, the Egyptian city that Assyria itself had demolished in 663 BC.

Nahum depicts the attack and excited movement of Nineveh’s troops as they attempt futile to stop the intruders. Idyllically, he turns into a member in the fight, and with unobtrusive incongruity, barks fight charges to the safeguards.

Nahum utilises various analogies and metaphors. Nineveh is incidentally contrasted and a lion, in reference to the lion as an Assyrian image of energy; Nineveh is the lion of quality that has a sanctum brimming with dead prey yet will wind up noticeably powerless like the lion covering up in its cave. It arrives at determination with an insult tune and burial service lament of the approaching obliteration of Nineveh and the “rest” or passing of the Assyrian individuals and end of the once incredible Assyrian hero rulers .

What is The Book of Nahum About? – Commentary on Nahum Explained


Book of Habakkuk

It fair to Share the Kingdom of God

Leave a comment