Book of Jonah

The Book of Jonah is one of the Prophets in the Bible. It recounts a Hebrew prophet named Jonah child of Amittai who is sent by God to forecast the destruction of Nineveh yet tries to get away from the celestial mission. Set in the reign of Jeroboam II (786–746 BC).

The story has an intriguing interpretive history and has turned out to be notable through famous youngsters’ stories. In Judaism it is the Haftarah, perused amid the evening of Yom Kippur with a specific end goal to impart reflection on God’s readiness to pardon the individuals who repent.

Not at all like alternate Prophets, the book of Jonah is completely story, except for the hymn in part 2. The genuine prophetic word against Nineveh is given just in going through the story. Similarly as with any great account, the narrative of Jonah has a setting, characters, a plot, and subjects. It likewise depends vigorously on such artistic gadgets as incongruity.

The Book of Jonah Outline

  • Jonah Flees His Mission (chapters 1-2)
  • Jonah’s Commission and Flight (1:1-3)
  • The Endangered Sailors Cry to Their gods (1:4-6)
  • Jonah’s Disobedience Exposed (1:7-10)
  • Jonah’s punishment and Deliverance (1:11-2:1;2:10)
  • His Prayer of Thanksgiving (2:2-9)
  • Jonah Reluctantly fulfills His Mission (chapters 3-4)
  • Jonah’s Renewed Commission and Obedience (3:1-4)
  • The Endangered Ninevites’ Repentant Appeal to the Lord (3:5-9)
  • The Ninevites’ Repentance Acknowledged (3:10-4:4)
  • Jonah’s Deliverance and Rebuke (4:5-11)

Book of Jonah Summary and The Whale Commentary – Jonah Scripture


Book of Micah

It fair to Share the Kingdom of God

Leave a comment