Book of Chronicles

The two Books of Chronicles (regularly alluded to as I Chronicles and II Chronicles, or First Chronicles and Second Chronicles). In the Hebrew Bible, Chronicles is a solitary book, called Diḇrê Hayyāmîm (Hebrew: דִּבְרֵי־הַיָּמִים‎, “The Matters [of] the Days”), and is the last book of Ketuvim, the third and last some portion of the Tanakh. Annals was isolated into two books in the Septuagint and called I and II Paralipoménōn (Greek: Παραλειπομένων, “things left on one side”).

Accounts show the scriptural story from the main individual, Adam, through the historical backdrop of antiquated Judah and Israel until the decree of King Cyrus the Great (ca. 540 BCE). The English name originates from the Latin name chronikon, which was given to the content by researcher Jerome in the fifth century.

The Book of Chronicles Summary

The Chronicles account starts with Adam and the story is then conveyed forward, totally by genealogical records, down to the establishing of the primary Kingdom of Israel (1 Chronicles 1–9). The majority of the rest of 1 Chronicles, after a short record of Saul, is worried with the rule of David (1 Chronicles 11–29).

The following long area concerns David’s child Solomon (2 Chronicles 1–9), and the last part is worried with the Kingdom of Judah with incidental references to the second kingdom of Israel (2 Chronicles 10–36). In the last section Judah is obliterated and the general population taken into outcast in Babylon, and in the last verses the Persian ruler Cyrus the Great overcomes the Neo-Babylonian Empire, and approves the reclamation of the Temple in Jerusalem, and the arrival of the exiles.

The Book of Chronicles Summary – Outline of 1 and 2 Chronicles


Book of Ezra and Nehemiah

It fair to Share the Kingdom of God

Leave a comment