Book of Amos

The Book of Amos is the third of the Twelve Minor Prophets in the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament and the second in the Greek Septuagint tradition. Amos, a more established contemporary of Hosea and Isaiah, was dynamic c. 750 BC amid the rule of Jeroboam II,[2] (788–747 BC) making the Book of Amos the main scriptural prophetic book composed. Amos lived in the kingdom of Judah however lectured in the northern kingdom of Israel. His real topics of social equity, God’s supremacy, and celestial judgement moved toward becoming staples of prediction.

Structure Book of Amos

Papyrus Oxyrhynchus 846: Amos 2 (LXX)
(Michael D. Coogan, A Brief Introduction to the Old Testament, 2009, p.256.)

Oracles against the nations (1.3–2.6)
Addresses to groups in Israel
Women of Samaria (4.1–3)
Rich persons in Samaria (6.1–7)
Rich persons in Jerusalem (8.4–8)
Five symbolic visions of God’s judgement on Israel, interrupted by a confrontation between Amos and his listeners at Bethel (7.10–17):
Locusts (7.1–3)
Fire (7.4–6)
A plumb line (7.7–9)
A basket of fruit (8.1–3)
God beside the altar (9.1–8a)
Epilogue 9:8b-15

The Book of Amos Old Testament Explained – Amos Bible Summary


Book of Obadiah

It fair to Share the Kingdom of God

Leave a comment